2017 King Elvis
2016 Droopys Buick
2015 Swift Hoffman
2014 Cornamaddy Jumbo
2013 Farloe Tango
2012 Blonde Snapper
2011 Taylors Sky
2010 Jimmy Lollie
2009 Fear Zafonic
2008 Lenson Joker
2007 Spiridon Louis
2006 Westmead Hawk
2005 Westmead Hawk
2004 Fire Height Dan
2003 Tims Crow
2002 Droopys Rhys
2001 Rapid Ranger
2000 Palace Issue
1999 Chart King
1998 Toms The Best
1997 Some Picture
1996 Spring Rose
1995 Staplers Jo
1994 Westmead Chick
1993 Heavenly Lady
1992 Murlens Abbey
1991 Bobs Regan
1990 Westmead Harry
1989 Waltham Abbey
1988 Hit The Lid
1987 Signal Spark
1986 Ballyregan Bob
1985 Ballyregan Bob
1984 Whisper Wishes
1983 Yankee Express
Sandy Lane (b)
1982 Lauries Panther
Duches Of Avon (b)
1981 Decoy Boom
1980 Sports Promoter
Keem Princess (b)
1979 Desert Pilot
Kilmagoura Mist
1978 Lacca Champion
Ballinderry Moth (b)
1977 Balliniska Band
Montreen (b)
1976 Mutts Silver
1975 Pineapple Grand (b)
Tartan Khan (d)
1974 Westpark Mustard
1973 Case Money
1972 Patricia’s Hope (d)
Short Cake (b)
1971 Dolores Rocket
1970 Moordyke Spot
Curraheen Lady (b)
1968 Yellow Printer (d)
Shady Parachute (b)
1967 Carry On Oregon (d)
Miss Taft (b)
1962 Dromin Glory (d)
Dainty Spark (b)
1961 Palms Printer
Clonalvy Pride
1960 Crazy Paving
Gorey Airways (Ir.)
1959 Mile Bush Pride
1958 Pigalle Wonder
1957 Duet Leader
1954 Pauls Fun/Pancho Villa

King Elvis swept the board at the Greyhound of the Year awards with Rab and Liz McNair regretting not bringing a low-loader into Central London to take away all the trophies.

Elvis became the first British bred to land the award since Jimmy Lollie in 2010 and the first home born greyhound to take the standard distance award since the great Westmead Hawk.

The British bred award was already a formality, and in a very tough year where the opposition included Roxholme Nidge and Droopys Expert, the young black also collected the ‘Best Newcomer’ gong. His mum Skate On had already collected the Dam of the Year and the KSS Syndicate collected the Owner of the Year award for the fourth consecutive time.

After making a winning debut, Elvis ran 23 times (17 as a puppy) during the year for 15 wins and five second places. The victories included wins in the Produce Stakes, Trafalgar Cup, Henlow Derby and British Bred Derby plus a runner-up spot in the Romford Puppy Cup.

The only male in a litter of seven, Elvis is by the recently deceased Tullymurry Act and Oak runner-up Skate On. They were bred and reared in Kent. Elvis’ sisters include National Sprint winner Queen Anna and open race winners Queen Paloma and Queen Adele, plus Queen Britney (A1 C.Pk.), Queen Whitney (2nd in three opens to date) and Watchall Winnie (A1 Pelaw).


There were overdue rewards for hounds who just missed out in 2016. St.Leger winner Rubys Rascal, who was overlooked in favour of kennelmate Ferryforth Fran was an overwhelming choise as top stayer, while Razldazl Raidio, who was in the hunt for the 2016 Hurdlers of the year title, duly claimed his just rewards.

The sprinter award went to Roxholme Hat, the marathon went to TV Trophy winner Goldies Hotspur and dual category one winner Geelo Sapphire was voted Bitch of the Year. Nottingham’s Swift McHernon was the Graded Greyhound of the Year.


Among the remainder of the biped winners, Mark Wallis had long since secured a sixth consecutive Champion Trainer title – and a ninth overall. Long serving Wimbledon and Hove head girl Ann Mahon landed the kennelhand of the year title.

The greyhound writers had acknowledged the tremendous fillip that Towcester had contributed to the industry by awarding Lord Hesketh its ‘services’ award.